Tennessee Entomological Society Post Board Meeting

Tennessee State University, Otis Floyd Nursery Research Center – October 10th, 2023

Jennifer Tsuruda, Presiding

Leigh Boardman, Frank Hale, Karla Addesso, Karen Vail, Steve Murphree, Midhula Gireesh, Cindy Bilbrey, Pat Parkman, Pete Obenauer

2024 Meeting

Location

- West TN Jackson Center, Agricenter Memphis or Memphis U. Biological Station
- Leigh will find out if the Memphis station is available as well as hotel and food options before we decide
- Leigh will pick keynote speaker; Steve M. will find list of former keynote speakers for ideas; Karla suggests watching cost or splitting honorarium with university*

Insect Festival

- Youth training for scientists OR 4-H Agent present/Parents
- Alfred and Matt Longmire signed up, but might not be present next fall
- Hosting will depend on location
- People will need to sign up to bring displays

Forms

- Will take time to get members to use forms
- Payment method & form should be together
- Paypal option for next year
- Jennifer can give Leigh form access to update for 2024

Teams Folder

- Jennifer will give new board members access
- Create 2023 Meeting Folder and add 2023 photos and 50th Anniversary ppt to folder; pin photo

Firefly

- Karla will send Pete new version of Constitution & SOP
- Karla will send Pete 2021 program to add to 2021 Firefly
- Cindy will send Pete 2023 Predictions
- Pat/Karen will send PDF of old Predictions for 2022 & 2021 Firefly
- Possible new Firefly logo design?

Other Topics

- Pat Parkman updated competition form; agreed to stay on 1 or 2 more years
- Karla will post photos of winners to TES site

- Karla & Jennifer will begin sharing SOP parts with new committees
- Jennifer will send 'when to meet' for next board meeting for Feb/Mar
- Tee Shirts: 13 Blue S, 8 Maroon S, 9 Maroon M

2023-2024 Committees

Auditing: Frank Hale, Steve Murphree

Awards: Pat Parkman, Kaushalya Amarasekare Constitution: Jason Oliver, Karla Addesso

Insect Festival: Alfred Johnson, Matthew Longmire, Steve Murphree

Local Arrangements: TBD

Membership: Kaushalya Amarasekare, Binita Sigdel

Nominations: Karen Vail, Steve Murphree

Predictions/Evaluations: Cindy Bilbrey, Jason Oliver Proclamation: Steve Hamilton, Steve Murphree Program: Leigh Boardman, Jennifer Tsuruda Publications/Editorial: Pete Obenauer, Frank Hale Publicity: Karla Addesso (FB), Karen Vail (website)