TES Annual Business Meeting

10/07/2022

President Steve Murphree called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. and read the Tennessee Entomology Week Governor's office proclamation

Awards chair Pat Parkman announced the Undergraduate, M.S. and Ph.D. student paper competition awards:

Kathleen Coffman (\$200) – 1^{st} Place – Undergraduate Award Gaige Lariscy (\$100) – 2^{nd} Place – Undergraduate Award Jackson Turner (\$200) – 1^{st} Place – MS Student Asmita Gautam (\$100) – 2^{nd} Place – MS Award Kassie Hollabaugh (\$200) – 1^{st} Place – PhD Award Dawson Kerns (\$100) – 2^{nd} Place – PhD Award

Parkman stated that no Howard L. Bruer or Harry E. Williams Awards would be presented this year.

Secretary Report – Karla Addesso – not present

Treasurer's Report – Steve Powell distributed copies of his report

- Powell had served since 1997; retiring; Murphree called for a standing ovation
- Started at TDA in 1991
- Closeout check \$6,308.29 to be delivered to Karla Addesso

Auditing Committee – Clete Youmans

Books balanced

Constitution Committee - Jason Oliver & Karla Addesso - not present

- Murphree stated that Board members had agreed to propose a merger of the Secretary Treasurer officer positions and, following Constitution protocol, he had distributed files including an update to the Constitution.
- Murphree pointed out that from 1973 until1981 TES had a joint Secretary-Treasurer position.
- The Board's approval served as a motion to create joint Secretary-Treasurer; Clete Youmans seconded the motion to create joint position
- Motion passed
- Murphree indicated that he and members of the 2022-23 Constitution Committee would determine if a similar update to the Operating Procedures would also require a vote at the 2023 annual business meeting.

Local Arrangements – Pat Parkman asked students and other TES members who attended the dinner at Field House Social for feedback and thanked Clete Youmans and BASF for paying for the student's dinners. Discussion took place regarding the 2023 Annual Conference to be held in McMinnville.

Membership – Steve Murphree

- Updated possible membership list by looking at ESA member list
- Need more chemical company support as was the case in the past
- Check on TES membership; Dr. Jack Grubaugh UT Martin, Dr. Darrell Moore, Dr. Gerardo Gomez (ETSU)

Nominations Committee – Past President Kaushalya Amarasekare

- President Elect Jennifer Tsuruda
- Secretary/Treasurer Karla Addesso
- Editor Peter Obenauer
- Member-at-Large Cindy Bilbrey
- Karen Vail made motion to approve slate by acclamation
- Pat Parkman seconded motion
- Motion passed

Prediction and Evaluations Committee – Steve Powell

- Asian longhorned beetle
- Imported Fire Ants 75 counties regulated by TDA, only 6 counties no incidents
- Spongy moth slow the spread (STS) close to the front, outside zone eradication is the goal
- Asian Defoliator survey
- Spotted Lanternfly survey
- Karen Vail reported that she had found Formosan termites in Henderson and Shelby Counties of west Tennessee and in a boat at Watts Bar Lake
- Jerome Grant suggested that Powell add the Laurel Wilt map

Program Committee

• Chair Karen Vail indicated that the number of papers presented at the 2022 Annual Conference was likely a record for TES.

Publicity Committee

- Murphree thanked Karen Vail and other committee members for their work in transferring TES files to, and design of, the new TES website, <u>www.TES.tennessee.edu</u>
- Kassie H., Cindy P., Aubree M., Karla A. and others put posts on FB site
- Jerome Grant asked if the Entomology Week Proclamation could be obtained earlier in 2023 so that it could be released to various news outlets. Steve Murphree agreed to ask Proclamation Committee chair Steve Hamilton to get proclamation well in advance of 50th anniversary next year – it is a big deal.

Publications/Editorial Committee

• Murphree asked that Editor Pete Obenauer work with past-Editor Greg Wiggins to upload the the 2021 edition of the Firefly to the TES website and work with 2022 Program Chair Karen Vail to prepare and upload the 2022 edition.

Sign up for Committees for 2022-2023

• Murphree went through the sign-up sheet for 2022-23 committees and confirmed Chairs for each committee.

2023 Meeting

- McMinnville, TN, Otis L. Floyd Nursery Research Center October 12-13, 2023
- Karen Vail suggested that the online submission of abstracts continue.

After past TES presidents escorted President Karen Vail to the podium to receive the gavel, she thanked all for attending the annual conference.

Adjournment: A motion was made by Karen Vail and seconded by ? to adjourn.